Some players would like to have the opportunity to take a Mulligan when they are disturbed by spectators. This is not possible. Let’s see what happened in the British Seniors two weeks ago
THE FACTS :
At Royal St-George in UK, Michael Campbell is on the tee. He hits his ball 200 yards and calls a referee. The official gave him the right to replay the shot.
WHY? : Because he said he was making a practice swing
When a ball is on the tee and it is touched by the club or any other way, the stroke does not count if the player had no intention a making a stroke. There is no difference between a ball falling down a tee and the one going 200 yards away from the teeing area. It is also possible to put the ball on the tee anywhere in the teeing area.
ON THE GREEN:
This rule is also in effect when a ball lies on the green. If by a practice stroke or by hitting the ball accidently with his foot, the ball moves, the stroke does not count, and the player must replace the ball in its original position.
EXCEPTION: if a player lifts the ball without marking it or if he touches it on purpose without being marked, the player can’t avoid the one stroke penalty and he must replace the ball.
ELSEWHERE ON THE COURSE:
Anywhere except on the teeing area and the green, if a player hits a ball accidently with a practice swing, he is penalized one stroke and must replace the ball.
PLAYING FROM THE WRONG PLACE
If a player does not replace his ball in the previous incidents, he would play from a wrong place and the penalty is 2 strokes. He then, must continues with that ball played from the wrong place.