Viktor Hovland – Did the ball cross the penalty area?
On hole # 11, Hovland needed help from a video available from the Committee to see if his ball crossed the red penalty zone or if it hit the wooden planks. It was decided that the ball crossed the Penalty area and he dropped a ball near the green. It the ball had not crossed the Penalty area; the drop would have been made at 150 yards from the green.
Viktor Hovland – Playing from a wrong place
On green # 15, Hovland marked his back with one clubhead-length to the right, because the marker would have been on another player’s line. When he put the ball back in play, he moved the marker one clubhead-length to the right again instead of one club-length to the left, so he played his next stroke from a wrong place but at the time he didn’t remember.
After the round his mother told him he played from a wrong place. He went to see a Committee member and he added 2 strokes to his score. He missed the cut by only one stroke. The last prize was 30 450$…..a very expensive mistake. When a player did not know have been in a breach, he won’t be disqualified
The famous HOLE # 17
That hole is marked Yellow. Even if a ball lands on the green and ends up in the water, the player must go back on the other side of the penalty area. All the players that send their ball in the water used one of those two options:
· Put a ball in play Stroke and distance from the tee or
· Drop Zone.
Lost Ball – Bubba Watson
Watson sent his ball on the right side in the rough. After a three-minute ball search, the ball was declared lost, and Watson had to go back to the tee. A few holes later, a volunteer went to see Watson and told him the ball was found. A cart had rolled over the ball and it was embedded. It was too late….
THE RULE: If it would have been known or virtually certain that a cart moved the ball the player, without penalty, would have placed the ball or another ball at the approximate area.