As president of the rules committee, I receive many questions . At the end of August and September, golf clubs have their Club Championships and many things can happen.
Instead of playing from the white markers, the player used the blue markers. He found out about his mistake on the second hole after teeing on the second hole.
Decision: The player is Disqualified.
Different tees for same class
is it possible for a Committee to have players start the holes from different tee if they compete against each other in a Club championship?
Decision: Players in the same class must play with the same conditions.
Arriving late at the starting time
A player did not make it on time. he was late for over 5 minutes. The Committee decided to have him play at a later time because the player was delayed in the traffic.
Decision: Traffic is not a reason to arrive late. The Committee should not have given the possibility to the player to start at a later time.
Wrong score on a hole
The competitor marked a 39 in the 18th hole box, signed his scorecard and left the scoring area. The Committee wanted to disqualify the player.
Decision: The player’s real score for the 18th hole was a 4. The actual score should have been 39-41=80. By marking 39 in the 18thhole box, he has to keep the score of 39 for a total of 115 (74 + 41). The player is not disqualified.
No signature on the score card
Many club championships don’t bother with the scorecards. This is a very bad habit because in the Rules of Golf a player that does not sign his scorecard is disqualified.
Parking space for the club champion
A player in the AA class played 4 shots better from the Blue tees than the AAA player who started all the holes from the Gold tees. The Committee wanted to award the parking space to the AA player because they adjusted the score based on the Handicap system by 1 stroke per round (3 rounds).
Decision: The Club champion SHOULD be the player with the best score from the back tees.
- play of a wrong ball not corrected disqualification
- wrong relief from a cart path penalty 2 strokes: even if the breach was found between two rounds
- can junior play Yes
- golf cart used to see position of flag penalty 2 strokes
- ball at 2 inches not holes disqualification
- cheater disqualification
- at the 18th hole, a player sees he as 15 clubs. He speaks to his fellow competitors and they all say they won’t say anything and won’t give the penalty. ALL PLAYERS DISQUALIFIED