Rules of golf decisions in early 2021… First: HSBC Championship (ABU DHABI) last week…
Jorge Campillo removed the divot with a referee close by to make sure the ball did not move. If the ball moves, the player must replace the ball.
AMERICAN EXPRESS ( PGA WEST)
Have a look at the video before reading the article: https://golf.com/instruction/rules/how-matthew-wolff-lost-stroke-rules-video-review/
Many rules were used in that single incident:
In his backswing the player’s ball moved by an inch and the player stopped his stroke. He called a referee, and they agreed the player did not caused the ball to move. The next day, the Committee looked at a video that was not available the previous day and they overturned the referee’s decision. But the player did not get penalized for playing from the wrong place; only for having caused the ball to move.
Rule 9.4: If the player caused the ball to move, he gets a one-stroke penalty and must replace the ball.
Rule 3.3b(3): If the score for a hole is lower than the actual score because he excluded a penalty he did not know about; he won’t be disqualified.
Rule 20.2c: When the Committee is deciding questions of fact in making a ruling, the use of video evidence is limited by the naked eye standard.
Rule 20.2d: If a ruling by a referee is later found to be wrong, the ruling will be corrected.
Rule 14.7: The penalty for playing from the wrong place is 2 strokes. But because the player was given a wrong ruling, he was not penalized for not replacing the ball.