First: LOOSE IMPEDIMENTS NEAR A BALL
Anywhere on the course, we are allowed to remove a loose Impediment. The only condition, under the Rules is to make sure the ball does not move in the process, if it does, the penalty is one stroke, and the ball must be replaced. Stewart Cink and Billy Horschel did not take any chances and they played the ball with the loose impediment touching the ball.
If the ball moves while removing a loose impediment on the green, the ball must be replaced without penalty.
BALL OVERHANGING THE HOLE
Si Woo Kim took 55 seconds before the ball finally dropped in the hole. The Rule is very explicit on that matter. You have 10 seconds and if the ball does not go in the hole it is deemed to be at rest and if the ball drops in the hole after that period, the ball is considered holed, and the player adds a stroke to his score. This is not new, and everybody should know that rule!
Si Woo Kim's birdie putt hung on the edge for over a minute. 😮
Per the rules, a stroke will be added and it will be counted as par since it took longer than 10 seconds to drop. pic.twitter.com/jU3ayv9Mu2
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) April 17, 2021
CONCEDING IN STROKE PLAY – IN A PLAYOFF
We all know that we are not allowed to concede a putt to another player in Stroke Play. During the last European Tour championship, Catlin and Kieffer were in a playoff. At the 5th playoff hole, Kieffer sent 3 balls in the water and Catlin was in the greenside bunker after his tee shot. Kieffer was allowed to concede victory and Catlin was not in any obligation the put his ball in the hole. But players did not know they could concede victory in a Stroke Play playoff.